Preserving Independence, Hope, and Dignity since 1967

Board of Directors

Members of Bay Area Legal Services' Board serve as ambassadors, educating the community and building relationships that support our mission.  Fiduciary duties include financial and program oversight, and broad policy-making.  The Board is composed of 21 members selected and appointed by a variety of organizations and agencies.  Board members serve three-year terms and participate in quarterly Board meetings.

Federal regulations require that the Board consist of at least 60% attorneys and 30% clients who are eligible for services at the time of appointment.  Additional regulations require that attorney appointments be made by bar associations representing a majority of the attorneys practicing in the communities where BALS provides services.

Join our Board and guide BALS in a fiduciary role while serving as our ambassador in the community.  Board members include attorneys and representatives from client-based organizations.

Current Board members are:


  • Chair: Gwynne Young
  • Chair-Elect: Leslie Schulz-Kin
  • Treasurer: Yohance Pettis
  • Secretary: Kathleen Kloiber Koch

Board Members

  • Michael Bedke
  • Morgan R. Bentley
  • Dionne Blaesing
  • Staci K. Chisholm
  • Vivian Cortes Hodz
  • Cynthia Davis-Gryce
  • Wendy DePaul
  • Lee Hoffman
  • Valorie Hoppenworth
  • Adriana Huapilla
  • David T. Knight
  • Yolanda V. Lee
  • Paul Martinez
  • Andrew O'Malley
  • Tori Simmons
  • Barbara Williams
  • Sarah E. Williams

The organizations that appoint Board members are:


  • Hillsborough County Bar Association
  • Sarasota County Bar Association
  • St. Petersburg Bar Association
  • West Pasco County Bar Association
  • Bay Area Legal Services Board of Directors


  • Catholic Charities
  • Community Action Stops Abuse (CASA)
  • West Central Florida Area Agency Area on Aging
  • Salvation Army Domestic Violence Shelter – West Pasco County
  • The Spring of Tampa Bay
  • Tampa Lighthouse for the Blind


If you would like to apply now, click on the box below.
Serving Florida: Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, and Sarasota Counties.
Hurricane Irma disaster resources.graphic